Bloom’s Taxonomy

Brilliant notes!

Ms. Rathimalar Govindarajoo's Fairview Dance Journal

Bloom’s taxonomy is a way of distinguishing the fundamental questions within the education system. It is named after Benjamin Bloom.


It divides educational objectives into three “domains”:

  1. Synthesis – Compile information together in a different way, proposing alternative solutions
  2. Evaluation
  3. Analysis
  4. Application
  5. Comprehensive
  6. Knowledge
  1. Receiving
  2. Responding
  3. Valuing
  4. Organising
  5. Characterising
  • psychomotor – sometimes loosely described as “knowing/head”, “feeling/heart” and “doing/hands” respectively.

Skills in the psychomotor domain describe the ability to physically manipulate a tool or instrument like a hand or a hammer. Psychomotor objectives usually focus on change and/or development in behavior and/or skills.

  1. Perception
  2. Set
  3. Guided response
  4. Mechanism
  5. Complex overt response
  6. Adaptation
  7. Origination

A goal of Bloom’s taxonomy is to motivate educators to focus on all three domains, creating a more holistic form of education.


View original post


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s