TEACHING PHILOSOPHY STATEMENT

I am a firm believer that there is no better feeling than after a class that has gone well! I remember feeling that exhilarating energy when I first got to teach in summer camp, than volunteering in school during my bachelor and undertaking fulltime teaching position during my MA research.

Being visual art teacher, I want my students to make connections, to keep their curiosity on the edge, keep questioning things. As mush as it is necessary to provide students with the conceptual and technical tools they will need to produce and understand art, it is important to give them some encouragement of exploration to help them to improve their work. I am constantly looking forward to improve my subject knowledge and pedagogical skills – it is important for such passionate educator. I think that one of my greatest ability is being a thinker, to organize my thoughts.
But in my practice most of the time the simplest teaching techniques can work the best, I use charts and diagrams and other visual representations to help students reflect better on subject. Use images and sounds, videos and textures as well as words and concepts, I believe, is extremely helpful for my students to develop a sense of artistic empathy: to make connections with their subjects. The main principle of my lectures is a conversation between me and my students. To get in touch with emotional side of art it is important to ask questions like “How do we decide what’s worth teaching in Art?” – it helps learners to focus on what’s important for them in learning art. Although I try to use a wide variety of sources and address multiple concepts, I take great pride in the tight organization of my lectures. As soon as teaching art is not only about skills but multiple concepts, students need encouragement in keeping mind open and experimenting.

To be
a great educator doesn’t mean you always starting at the level of the student, but more about ability to reach out and encouraging him or her to explore new possibilities, look beyond frames, act upon their own intellectual initiative.

As soon as teaching art is not only about skills but multiple concepts, students need encouragement in keeping mind open and experimenting. As C. G. Jung and other psychologists and sociologists have already noted, art is like a mirror of the society itself. As artists we take in information all around us and then filter it through our own set of inner “mirrors” and what comes out we call art. For me, Warhol’s paintings, his “Marilyn Monroe” paintings are perfect examples.

3e46c1f67b49bd67aaa96970232a52d9

Leave a Reply

